skip navigation


NMHSCA Awards Program

The NMHSCA Coaches Recognition & Awards Program is designed to recognize New Mexico's most accomplished NMHSCA member coaches.  The impact a coach has on the life of a student is tremendous, and the NMHSCA Board of Directors is proud to recognize all the outstanding coaches every year at the annual Bobby Gibbs Awards Show during the annual NMHSCA Coaches Clinic. 

2022 Bobby Gibbs Awards Show

Date:  Monday, July 25th, 2022
Time:  7:00 - 9:00 pm
Location:  Crowne Plaza Albuquerque, NM Ballroom

The NMHSCA will be recognizing award winning coaches from the 2021/2022 which includes, the Hall of Honor Coaches, Ralph Bowyer Coaching for Character Award winner, the Distinguished Service Award Winner, the 2022 Coaches of the Year, the 2022 Assistant Coaches of the Year, and the 2021/2022 State Champions.

2022 Award Winning Coaches

The NMHSCA is excited to announce its 2022 Award Winning Coaches.

The following coaches will be recognized at the Bobby Gibbs Awards Show on Monday, July 25th, 2022 from 7-9 pm. 
Location: Crowne Plaza Albuquerque, NM Ballroom

2022 Hall of Honor Inductees
Willie Owens, Sandia Prep
Speedy Faith, Lovington
Miles Watters, Clayton & Clovis

2022 Ralph Bowyer Coaching with Character Award
Willie Owens, Sandia Prep

2022 Distinguished Service Award
Annette Castillo, Cleveland

2022 Coaches of the Year
Baseball: Charles Ward, NMMI
Boys Basketball: Jory Mirabal, Magdalena
Boys Cross Country: Chris Carroll, Zuni
Boys Soccer: Reyes Marquez, Lovington
Boys Wrestling: John Mason, Farmington
Boys T&F: Steve Montoya, Los Alamos
Football: Leroy Gonzalez, Robertson
Girls Basketball: Jose "Magic" Medina, Robertson
Girls Cross Country: Elena Schrader, Volcano Vista
Girls Wrestling: Ahren Griego, Volcano Vista
Girls Soccer: Heath Weihe, Cibola
Girls T&F: Ernie Martinez, Los Alamos
Volleyball: Vanessa Gonzales: Robertson
Golf: James Williams, Deming
Softball: Crystal Pablo, Gallup
Swimming & Diving: Miguel Castillo, St. Michaels
Spirt: Lisa Abeyta, Taos
Tennis: Amy Heimerl, La Cueva

2022 Athletic Director of the Year
Richard Tripp, West Las Vegas

2022 Assistant Coaches of the Year
Girls Basketball: Ross Villareal, Volcano Vista
Softball: Jason Hightower, Carlsbad
Wrestling: John Rogers, Atrisco Heritage

2022 Milestone Recognition

Level  Name (First) Name (Last) Sport School
Level 1 Brian Dowdy Boys Basketball Kirtland Central High School
Level 1 Joseph Esquibel Boys Basketball Santa Rosa High School
Level 1 Patrick Ortiz Boys Cross Country Pecos High School
Level 1 Easy Jimenez Boys Soccer La Cueva School
Level 1 Jeff Dalton Football Farmington High School
Level 1 Lonnie Neal Girls Basketball Highland High School
Level 1 Todd McBroom Girls Basketball Gallup High School
Level 1 Patrick Ortiz Girls Cross Country Pecos High School
Level 1 Sandra Pulido Softball Artesia High School
Level 1 John Mason Wrestling Farmington High School
Level 2 Christopher Carroll Boys Track Zuni High School
Level 2 Lorenzo Martinez Boys Wrestling Atrisco Heritage Academy 
Level 2 Christopher Carroll Girls Track Zuni High School
Level 2 Robert Young Girls Track and Field Logan High School
Level 2 Victor Rotunno Golf Hobbs High School
Level 2 Victor Rotunno Golf Hobbs High School
Level 3 Wally Salata Boys Basketball Rio Rancho High School
Level 3 Robert Young Boys Track Logan High School
Level 3 Jose Medina Girls Basketball Robertson High School
Level 4 Manuel Romero Boys Basketball Mora High School
Level 4 Christopher Carroll Cross Country Zuni High School
Level 4 Dave Caldwell Girls Swimming and Diving Santa Fe Prep School
Level 4 Robert Young Volleyball Logan High School