skip navigation

Basketball Clinic

New Mexico Basketball Coaches Clinic

October 21st & 22nd, 2022
Location: Crown Plaza, Albuquerque
Room Rate: $109.00 per room (2 people & Breakfasts.) $119.00 (4 people & breakfasts) Call (505) 884-2500 (Ask for Justin)

Registration Fee:  (You must be an online registered member of the NMHSCA.)

Friday, October 21st, 2022
4:00 - 4:50 pm: Session #1

  • Sally Marquez, NMAA will present the 2022/2023 NMAA Basketball Rules Clinic

5:00 - 5:30: Session #2

  • Michael Mondragon, Artesia High School will present on Developing Winning Culture and Winning Programs.

5:40 - 6:10 pm: Session #3

  • Lisa Villareal & Greg Brown, Volcano Vista High School will each discuss lessons learned during their 2021/2022 State Championship runs. 

6:20 - 6:50 pm: Session #4

  • Roy Sanchez, Eldorado High School will discuss and present a session about the coordination of the NMHSCA, the NHSBCA, the NABC, and the WNABC. In addition, Coach Sanchez will discuss working with assistant coaches helping keep them in the coaching profession.

7:00 - 7:50 pm Session #5

  • Greg Heiar, New Mexico State University

8:00 - 9:30 pm Coaches Social at the Crowne Plaza Cantina

  • Every coach must bring a quick hitter or inbounds play to be allowed to attend the social.
    Site: Crowne Plaza, Albuquerque Cantina

Saturday, October 22nd, 2022
"On Court" Sessions
8 Gradys Performance Center4101 Paseo Del Norte NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113

8:00 - 8:50 am

  • Albuquerque Metro Basketball Coaches Association Meeting.

9:00 - 9:50 am: Session #6

  • Coach Terri Morrision, Santa Fe Indian School. Topic: TBA

10:00 - 10:50 am: Session #7

  • Lori Mabrey, Rio Rancho & Kevin Lackey, Melrose will present a session titled: "Half-Court Man-to-Man Defensive Drills and Progressions".

11:00 - 11:50 am: Session #8

  • Derek Bean, Hot Springs will present a session on 1/2 Court Offensive Production.

12:00 - 12:50 pm: Session #9

  • Wally Salata, Rio Rancho, Breaking Pressure Defenses

 

New Mexico Basketball Leadership Committee

The NMHSCA has established a New Mexico Basketball Leadership Committee to represent New Mexico Education-Based Coaches.  The leadership committee will host the 2022 New Mexico Basketball Coaches Clinic.  If you have ideas, concerns, and or need advice or a person to hear you out, Contact one these leading coaches in New Mexico.

Roy Sanchez, Eldorado: (sanchez_roy@aps.edu; 505 221-1493)
Brian Shock, Cliff: (bshock30@yahoo.com; 575 574-5924)
Michael Mondragon, Artesia: (mmondragon@bulldogs.org; 575 308-3524)
Lori Mabrey, Rio Rancho: (lori.mabrey@rrps.net; 505 249-3883)
Lisa Villareal, Volcano Vista: (lmvillareal@gmail.com; 505 929-4325)
Kevin Lackey, Melrose (klackey@melroseschools.org; 575 309-6580)
Wally Salata, Rio Rancho (wally.salata@rrps.net; 505 620-9068)
Derek Bean, Hot Springs (dbean@torcschools.net; 575 740-0089)
Sean Jimenez, Cleveland (sean.jimenez@rrps.net; 730-8878)
Willie Owens, Sandia Prep (wowens@sandiaprep.org; 505 350-7217)


HOME

INSIDE NMHSCA

MEMBERSHIP